Can LeBron join Kobe as a four-time NBA All-Star Game MVP?

In February 2020, to commemorate the death of Los Angeles Lakers icon Kobe Bryant that had come a month prior, the NBA renamed the award given to the most valuable player at its All-Star Game after Bryant.       

Bryant was an 18-time All-Star and won the MVP award four times, tying him for most all-time with former St. Louis Hawks great Bob Pettit. Last year, the NBA tapped artist Victor Solomon to redesign the trophy so that it would better symbolize Bryant’s greatness.

“Kobe Bryant is synonymous with NBA All-Star and embodies the spirit of this global celebration of our game,” NBA commissioner Adam Silver said in February 2020. “He always relished the opportunity to compete with the best of the best and perform at the highest level for millions of fans around the world.”

In January, current Lakers star LeBron James tied an NBA record with his 19th All-Star nomination. If James is able to win the game’s NBA All-Star Game Kobe Bryant MVP Award, he will tie Bryant and Pettit with four trophies.

Follow every game: Latest NBA Scores and Schedules

Here’s everything you need to know about the NBA All-Star Game Kobe Bryant MVP Award:

Who are some of the notable retired players who have won the NBA All-Star Game Kobe Bryant MVP Award?

Kobe Bryant

Los Angeles Lakers (2011, 2009, 2007, 2002)

Dwyane Wade

Miami Heat (2010)

Shaquille O’Neal

Phoenix Suns (2009), Los Angeles Lakers (2004, 2000)

Allen Iverson

Philadelphia 76ers (2005, 2001)

Michael Jordan

Chicago Bulls (1998, 1996, 1988)

Scottie Pippen

Chicago Bulls (1994)

Karl Malone

Utah Jazz (1993, 1989)

Magic Johnson

Los Angeles Lakers (1992, 1990)

Charles Barkley

Philadelphia 76ers (1991)

Julius Irving

Philadelphia 76ers (1983, 1977)

Larry Bird

Boston Celtics (1982)

Isiah Thomas

Detroit Pistons (1986, 1984)

George Gervin

San Antonio Spurs (1980)

Jerry West 

Los Angeles Lakers (1972)

Oscar Robertson

Cincinnati Royals (1969, 1964, 1961)

Bill Russell

Boston Celtics (1963)

Bob Pettit

St. Louis Hawks (1962, 1959, 1958, 1956)

Wilt Chamberlain

Philadelphia Warriors (1960)

Elgin Baylor

Minneapolis Lakers (1959) 

Bob Cousy

Boston Celtics (1957, 1954)

George Mikan

Minneapolis Lakers (1953)

Which active NBA players have won the NBA All-Star Game Kobe Bryant MVP Award?

Stephen Curry 

Golden State Warriors (2022)

Giannis Antetokounmpo

Milwaukee Bucks (2021)

Kawhi Leonard

Los Angeles Clippers (2020)

Kevin Durant

Golden State Warriors (2019), Oklahoma City Thunder (2012)

LeBron James

Cleveland Cavaliers (2018, 2008, 2006)

Anthony Davis

New Orleans Pelicans (2017)

Russell Westbrook

Oklahoma City Thunder (2016, 2015)

Kyrie Irving

Cleveland Cavaliers (2014)

Chris Paul

Los Angeles Clippers (2013)

This post appeared first on USA TODAY