NBA unveils redesigned trophies, including one named for Jordan

The National Basketball Association announced Tuesday that six season-ending awards will be re-designed and named after some of the league’s greatest players.

The league’s Most Valuable Player Award will be renamed The Michael Jordan Trophy, after a player many consider the greatest basketball player ever. Jordan won six NBA championships, six NBA Finals MVP Awards and 10 scoring titles. The trophy itself will stand 23.6 inches tall and weighs 23.6 pounds, representing Jordan’s jersey number (23) and number of NBA championships (6).

One of the newest awards will be the NBA Clutch Player of the Year, with the winner receiving The Jerry West Trophy. It will be voted on by a media panel based on nominations from NBA head coaches.

STAY UP-TO-DATE: Subscribe to our Sports newsletter now!

The other trophies will be renamed as followed.

Follow every game: Latest NBA Scores and Schedules

The Wilt Chamberlain Trophy for Rookie of the Year

The Hakeem Olajuwon Trophy for Defensive Player of the Year

The John Havlicek Trophy for Sixth Man of the Year

The George Mikan Trophy for Most Improved Player

‘Our new collection of trophies celebrates some of the greatest and most impactful players in the history of the NBA,’ NBA Commissioner Adam Silver said in a statement. ‘As we recognize the league’s top performers each season, we also pay tribute to the legends who embody these prestigious awards.’

Last season, the league revealed a revamped Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy, to go along conference championship trophies named after Hall of Famers Oscar Robertson and Bob Cousy. The conference finals MVP trophies were named after Magic Johnson and Larry Bird.

This post appeared first on USA TODAY